Reporting Child Abuse

In the State of Texas, law requires that ANYONE “having cause to believe that a child’s physical, mental health or welfare has been or may be adversely affected by abuse or neglect” MUST report the cause immediately.  Failure to report child abuse is a misdemeanor punishable by up to 180 days and/or a fine of up to $2000. – Texas Family Code, Chapter 261

You can make a report by calling 1-800-252-5400

or you can make a report on-line at

If you feel that a child is in immediate danger, call 911.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: